Heroes of Marawi honored through Senate Resolution

2018-06-03 09:27:49 PHT

Honoring the bravery, gallantry, heroism, and sacrifice of the men and women on uniform under the Joint Task Force (JTF) Marawi, especially those killed and wounded, the Philippine Senate recently passed Resolution No. 109, designating them as Heroes of Marawi.

JTF Marawi worked hard to counter the forces of the ISI-Maute terrorist group which held Marawi City for May 23 to October 17 last year. The group sought to make the Islamic city the base of its operations in the Southeast Asian region. JTF Marawi consisted of troops from various branches of the Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP), Philippine National Police (PNP), and the Philippine Coast Guard (PCG).

Senator Richard Gordon, the sponsor of the said Resolution which was signed by Senate President Vicente Sotto III, declared on the Senate floor that it is "but fitting that at the commemoration, we remember our brave, valiant, and gallant soldiers for their heroic task that prevented the takeover of a part of the Philippine territory by ISIS-affiliated militants."

The Resolution noted that 165 troops were killed and another 1,767 were wounded during the five-month battle to liberate Marawi City. JTF Marawi rescued 1,723 civilians successfully.

The Resolution also recognizes the assistance and support of non-government organizations (NGO) and volunteers, such as those from the United Nations International Children's Fund (UNICEF), Philippine Red Cross, Tarlac Heritage Livelihood Foundation, Teach Peace Build Peace Movement, Rotary Club of Padre Burgos Manila, and Kilos Kabataan Livelihood Foundation. These groups greatly helped in neutralizing the terrorists.

Former JTF Marawi Commander and now Commanding General of the Philippine Army, Lieutenant General Rolando Joselito D. Bautista, together with high ranking officers of the AFP and PNP, witnessed the proceedings on the Resolution which received a unanimous approval.